Lying by Hanai Garcia

Lying, if done out of complete necessity, is a valid reason to avoid consequences.

When I got my first job at a five star restaurant I was eager to please. I answered phones, took reservations, and cleaned my workstation constantly. Being the youngest employee at just 18, my higher ups were impressed with my work ethic. They trusted me with many things including giving me the keys to open the offices after hours. I enjoyed working there more than anything.

I had a supervisor every night named Andrew. He would watch me like a hawk and wait for me to make the slightest mistake. I would always be doing my job correctly so he could never say something to me. But Andrew was also a perfectionist and he never made a mistake. His orders always came out perfect and when he took reservations the guests were always satisfied. He was a very snarky man and if I ever asked a question he would make sure to answer condescendingly. Andrew annoyed me often with his comments and behaviors.

On a busy Saturday night in the middle of season Andrew got a call from the Rittenhouse family. Whenever they came to dine at the restaurant they would always get the best table and the best service because they would leave a huge tip. So like any manager would he booked their reservation ahead of all the other diners that evening. But what he didn’t realize was that I already booked the restaurant owner’s family for the same night a week earlier.

The shift went on as normal, the Rittenhouse family arrived on time and were sat at a huge table in the middle of the dinning room. Andrew was prancing around the kitchen talking about how he was able to book the Rittenhouse’s table on such short notice that they will most definitely leave hundreds of dollars as a tip. In that moment the owners of the restaurant, the Smiths, walked in. If you know about the restaurant business you would understand that in a small restaurant, having two very large parties is a problem, for both staff and guests. So Andrew panicked that he didn’t notice the error.

The error could have been mostly mine. And he screamed at the top of his lungs asking who booked the Smiths for dinner tonight. I did not answer him. And when he asked me specifically I had to say no. Andrew is such a hot head that he would fire me on the spot and not take into account how much I do for the restaurant or all my other good qualities as a worker. I lied to my manager about who made the reservation and lucky for me my shift was over before I could see how he solved the situation.

I learned from my mistake despite not suffering any consequences. Lying was the only solution to this situation. GOOD STORY AND EXAMPLE BUT YOU COULD HAVE ANALYZED THE SECRET A BIT MORE.

 

 

Leave a Reply

