Solitude – Daniela Ponce team 15

I DEDUCTED THREE POINTS FOR FAILING TO CATEGORIZE POST CORRECTLY.

Being completely away from anything that had to do with news was like living in solitude. Not knowing what was going on in the world had me confused.

Weather forecast was one of the things we were not allowed to look at. I am always used to checking the weather every few days to plan out my apparel ahead of time. Not being able to check the weather made me guess what the day (and rest of the week) would look like based on what I saw outside. The first day I chose for this assignment was Monday, February 20th. The day was not too hot and there were a few clouds in the sky. Based on what I saw, I made the decision to just wear shorts. The next day, Tuesday, the sky was very gray and the weather felt cold. I would say it was about 67 degrees.

The next thing that affected me was not being able to keep up the latest presidential news. I normally do not watch television news, but do keep up with the latest news via twitter. Not using twitter was difficult because I never realized how accustomed I was to clicking the twitter app every half hour. Twitter has become the number one app for news for most college students because it is so easy to use. Information can be displayed as news through trending tweets and hashtags that people use. Not being able to use the app was annoying because: I was not able to see what others were doing, I was not able to keep myself updated with the latest news, and I was not able to tweet about what I was doing or how I was feeling. It was hard to not use twitter because I just had the strongest urge to check the app.

Not using twitter was like being lost in the world: Not knowing the latest news on what Trump said and not being able to retweet the latest/funniest memes.

Not being caught up with social media news for 48 hours was like being in complete solitude. I never realized how much communication information is given through these resources. I think we have put ourselves in this addictive predicament by abusing these resources. We overuse and over rely on sites like twitter and Facebook. Although the news there is accurate a lot of times, we have allowed ourselves to revolve our lives around this app. This obsession with tweeting and getting information from twitter has led us to become obsessed with the app. We no longer rely on just ourselves. Most technology is overused and has allowed us to create even solitude based on our bad habits when the technology is not around. I admit that I am too used to having my phone at hand 27/7 and rely too much on social media sites for news. Because the assignment did not allow for us to visit several sites/apps/shows, it made me restless. CAN YOU TIE THESE CONCLUSIONS TO DERESIWICZ?

Leave a Reply

