I’ve Got a Secret Assignment -Daniela Ponce- Team 15

I DEDUCTED THREE POINTS FOR FAILING TO CATEGORIZE YOUR POST….

Secrets are kept, given out and exposed on a daily basis. One time, I had to keep a secret about an engagement for an entire month.

For starters, the secret was not mine to hear anyway. My uncle Ralph was planning to propose to his girlfriend, who’s now my aunt, Esmeralda. My entire family had planned to visit Nicaragua’s beaches for my grandfather’s 90th birthday.

Of course I had to stay behind because I had school. My uncle’s plan was to propose to his girlfriend on the family trip.

My uncle, who is my mother’s younger brother, had come to my mom for advice on what ring to buy and where. I’ll never forget sitting in my room and overhearing my uncle come to our house. He and my mom sat down on the couch and discussed different ring options and prices.

Being in my room, they had no idea I could hear their conversation from the living room. I was shocked and happy to discover the engagement that was going to happen and I wondered if anyone else knew.

After an hour of my uncle and my mom discussing rings, my uncle finally left. When he left, I immediately came outside of my room to talk to my mom.

“How’s Uncle Ralph? I said.

“Fine,” my mom responded.

I was shocked that my mom would not give me the details. I also figured she did not know that I had overheard them. This is when I admitted that I heard the entire thing. My mom was not mad because it wasn’t my fault, but she worried that I would tell another family member. The engagement was supposed to be a surprise for Esmeralda and the entire family so my mom made me promise not to tell anyone else.

Keeping the secret from my older sister Alex was rough because she and I always told each other everything. Alex was going on the family trip and I could not wait for her to tell me how it all happened since I would miss out because of school.

In the end, I kept my mom’s secret that was actually my uncle’s secret.

Knowing the secret of the engagement before everyone else actually made

Overall, keeping the secret benefitted everyone because Esmeralda did not find out beforehand and my entire family was surprised as they should have been. If I would have told my sister, there would have been the risk of her telling someone else and then the risk of that person telling another family member. Sometimes secrets can act like a game of telephone. It is best to keep them no matter how hard it may be WHERE’S THE REST?

YOU DIDN’T USE ANY CLASS CONCEPTS TO SUPPORT YOUR POINTS…

Leave a Reply

