Secrets

Secrecy

Few years ago I was at a party with one of my best friends. Everything was alright until a couple of girls approached us and we decided to take a couple of drinks with them. The problem with the whole situation is that my friend had a girlfriend at the time and I knew her at a personal level. I had dinned [SP: dined] on [at] my friend’s girlfriend [girlfriend’s] house, and she had talked to me about her problems and other personal things. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] As we were talking and drinking [comma] the situation started to go to a different level, and at the end my friend ended up kissing one of the girls we were talking with. The party ended and my friend and I went home, but he asked me to please keep the secret and do not say anything to his girlfriend. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] It was a significantly difficult situation because I used to see my friend’s girlfriend almost on a daily basis [Relate to class: Keeping a confidentiality puts tremendous burden on the agent.] . The first time I saw her after the party [comma] she asked me about how the night went, and I had to fake a smile and say that the night was kind of boring and that we just talked to the people around. When she saw my face [comma] she instantly knew something was off, and asked me again what happened. I pretended that everything was alright and that I was just tired, but my heart wanted to escape from my chest.

The whole situation gave me a strong sense of power. I knew that I could essentially make my friend do whatever I wanted due to the nature of the secret that I knew about him. Nevertheless, I never took advantage of the situation and I kept it confidential until this day. The fact that I knew a secret of that caliber strengthened our friendship to the point that now we blindly trust each other. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] The problem was that his girlfriend tried to unveil the secret for a long time [Relate to class: Do you think she was trying to penetrate the secret to know, gain control, feel superior, or be intimate?] . She kept asking me about the party for a couple of weeks afterwards, and in all honesty it was a really bad experience. There is nothing worse than having to coldly lie to somebody in their face after they have displayed such hospitality [She was nice? Or was she hostile?] towards you.  It was to a certain extent similar to having to perpetually maintain a facade. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] I thought at a certain point about telling her the truth, but I was not going to do it due to the prima facie duty of maintaining the secret [good insight]. I justified the lie by the fact that my friend had commented me in the past that she had done some terrible things to him. Whenever she asked [comma]I always tried to go back to those conversations with my friend about her. Although I knew it was not a justification, it was the only way I could hold the lie. Moreover, I also feel that to a certain degree the whole situation lowered my resistance towards the pathological and the irrational, it made more Machiavellian.

Leave a Reply

