Secrets

I used to have a best friend named Jeff, whose family is very conservative, is against drinking and secular activities, who liked to party and drink [run-on sentence make it seem that Jeff is against drinking but also likes to party.]. Anytime I would go over his family’s house to visit and hangout with [redundant and incorrect: hang out] Jeff, his mom would ask what we did on the weekend or where we went [Do you think the person trying to penetrate the secret had a desire to know, gain control, feel superior, or be intimate?] ; [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] Jeff would always reply with either “nothing mom, we went out to dance with our friends.” or “we just hung out.” When in reality, Jeff was out with our friends drinking his life away and getting wasted. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] One day after we left his house [comma] I looked at Jeff and asked why he’s lying to his parents. He never told me in the past that his parents do not condone this type of behavior nor do they believe he would ever do that, knowing his father used to struggle being an alcoholic needing rehab. His parents would punish him harshly if they ever found out that he was out drinking, they would take away his car, his freedom to leave the house and he would be completely isolated [run-on sentence]. [How did the experience empower you, the other person, or both of you?] 

Jeff asked me to keep this between him and I [case: me]. In the case that his parents would ever ask what he is doing, where he is or anything else concerning him, he said I should lie and say something to give him some cover so he is not exposed. This made me have a lot of power with the piece of information he provided me, in the case we are [tense: were] no longer friends and I wanted to ruin his life (not that I would) I could.

I remember one night I decided to stay in and finish a project that was due for a class I had on the following Monday after the weekend [redundant]. Jeff decided to go out with a few friends I’m not that close to, but he went out and enjoyed himself way too much to the point where he passed out and the friends he was with, just left him on the beach next to a stop sign on the floor [run-on sentence]. I got a call from his cell phone but it wasn’t Jeff on the other line. The person on the other line told me to come pick him up, at around 4 A.M. It wasn’t easy because I know his parents give him a curfew of 2 A.M. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] I hopped into my car, drove all the way to the beach to pick him up and take him back to my house and help him sober up before the next morning and get him home safely. His parents called me at 8 A.M. asking me where Jeff was, and I had to lie and tell them that he ended up just coming back to my house and he helped me with some homework and played Xbox. His parents were suspicious as to why Jeff never told them that he was coming to my house. I kept digging myself into deeper and deeper lies to protect Jeff. [Relate your feelings and insights to the readings. Did people make appeals based on ethos (your sense of honor, loyalty or justice) or pathos (feelings)? Did you carry a burden the way that Edward Snowden said he did?]

I may have built a stronger bond and trust with Jeff, but in the situation that his parents find out I lied to protect him, it will hurt my reputation with them, the rest of his family and my family for lying. [Relate to class: Keeping a confidentiality puts tremendous burden on the agent.] But I did what I had to, to protect my best friend Jeff. [Relate to class: You kept a confidentiality out of a prima facie duty and to show loyalty to a peer.] 

About acostayef
My name is Yef

Leave a Reply

