I’ve Got a Secret

Right after my high school graduation, I was eager to get a job. I knew it wouldn’t be easy to get into the field that I wanted because it was very competitive and I had no experience, but I was still hopeful.

My step-dad at the time, Carlos, worked for a prestigious management firm who [word choice: Use “who” only for people.] handled most of the condominiums in Brickell and Miami-Beach. One of their Miami-Beach [no hyphen] properties had just let go of their senior administrator, and they were accepting applications for new hires. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] I immediately begged my step-dad to get me an interview, but he was reluctant due to the fact that I was “family” and it was against company policy. Since we didn’t have the same last name and I was living on campus and had changed my mailing address, I filled out an application and sent it in, along with a letter of recommendation signed by him. He was the Director of Human Resources and had been with the company for a number of years, so his opinion weighed quite a bit. So much so that I got a call that very same week for an interview.

After I got the job, it became harder and harder to keep our relationship under wraps. All my new co-workers would ask about my family and comment on how incredible it was that I had landed the job straight out high school. I had to leave his name out, because if anybody even as little as suspected that we were in any way related both of our necks would be on the line [Relate to class: People keep a secret to protect personal space or a name.] . [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] As weeks went by [comma] I felt as if every conversation was pre-constructed in my head and I had to repeatedly remind myself that I couldn’t slip up. Carlos and I would get home around the same time everyday [two words] and exchange stories about how one of us almost messed up or about an extra nosey co-worker that day [Relate to class: Do you think the person trying to penetrate the secret had a desire to know, gain control, feel superior, or be intimate?] . It really took a toll in my experience with the company because I didn’t fully feel like I could be myself and felt guilt for putting my stepdad at risk. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] Although it was a secret that didn’t hurt anyone and in the end would greatly benefit me, I didn’t feel as if though I had EARNED my place with the company. Any relationship I built was constructed on a lie, even if it was a small one, which kept leading to more and more lies just to back up my original lie. [Relate the insights to the readings and lectures.]

I ended up being with the company for 3 years before quitting, and eventually did confess to my closest co-workers how I had landed the job and who my stepdad really was. Although nobody ever suspected or tried to question me, my own guilty conscious and paranoia of getting my stepdad in trouble grew into something that was getting harder to harder for me to hide. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] Carlos never once complained or even flinched, but did give me advice on who to watch out for and say very little in front of when he was suspicious of someone being suspicious [Relate to class: Carlos kept a confidentiality out of a prima facie duty and to show loyalty to a peer.]. Our daily chats about our secret and how to keep it from our company really brought our relationship to a completely new level. It built trust and a sense of connection that really just wasn’t present before.

Leave a Reply

