I’ve got a Secret

I know I’ve lied about circumstances and situations more times than I can remember and yet I consider myself to be an honest person. I lied and kept secrets for my sister for the mere fact that she was my sister and we had a spoken and unspoken bond of trust. We knew that after the first night of proven loyalty, no matter what happened between us, we would never reveal the other’s secrets.  This union of trust began on the night I saved my sister from getting in a heap of trouble. [Relate the insights to the readings and lectures.]

My sister snuck out of the house when she was 16 years old to go to a party at one of her friend’s house. She told me what she was going to do and it did not seem like a problem since our parents don’t check on us after they go to sleep. My sister left the house and I stayed up watching television. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] That night, my dad decided to go downstairs to the kitchen, which is right next to my older sister’s room. He noticed that her bathroom light was on and went inside to turn it off. That’s when he noticed that my sister was missing. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] He came into my room demanding to know where she went. I was so alarmed that the first thing that came to my head was to say that I had just gotten my period and we didn’t have any more Kotex pads left, so she went to the store to buy me some. My dad, being the male that he is, just grumbled and went back to his room to sleep without questioning it any further. Afterwards, I texted my sister to let her know what happened and she was able to make it home without being caught.

I never felt a sense of power over my sister for having protected her from getting in trouble that night. I believe that you can’t form a real bond with someone until you trust them to protect you and hold your secrets. Never did I think I could manipulate or use the information against her. My sister and I have been in plenty of fights before but we never used the secrets we have on each other to get our way or to make the other look bad in front of our parents. There was an importance to keeping each other’s secrets. [Relate to class: You kept a confidentiality out of a prima facie duty and to show loyalty to a peer.] 

This secret though did not ensure a sense of privacy since my sister was young and doing something wrong.  She was not privy to privacy at 16.  The lie was wrong on both my sister’s and mine’s part since it did put a burden on me to lie and keep a secret from our parents. [Relate to class: Keeping a confidentiality puts tremendous burden on the agent.] 

Secrecy and lies in this scenario is what formed a bond between two people. The irony is that trust between two sisters was built on a lie. I never threatened my sister with the information I had on her, even though it could have lead to me having power over her since I was the younger sister. I wanted to know that I could prove loyalty and I wanted my sister to trust me.

Leave a Reply

