Assignment 6: I’ve got a secret

Veronica Roman

Student ID: 5152184

Team: 06

February 27,2017

When I was in my sophomore year of high school, one of my best friends, Amanda was turning sixteen. I had lunch with Amanda almost every day of the week with our two other girlfriends, Ana and Gabriela. Amanda was a very simple girl, and she was also the shy one in the group. We used to talk and joke about everything. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] One afternoon while eating lunch we started to talk about Amanda’s sixteenth party, we were all picturing it in our heads, but we didn’t realize that Amanda didn’t want a birthday party. She said that she only wanted to spend her day relaxed at her house, maybe watch a movie, or go to a restaurant with her close friends and family but nothing big.

None of us could believe it. She was the first one in our clique to turn sixteen and turning sixteen meant having an awesome party. When the bell rang to go back to class [comma] Amanda rushed to her class. Gabriela, Ana, and I walked together to our classes and talked about what just happened. We were wondering what could we do to give Amanda an amazing birthday. We analyzed the situation, and we thought that she only wanted to be surrounded by the people who actually care about her. So, on, we came up with an idea and decided to call Amanda’s mom after school to talk to her about our plan.

Amanda’s mom was completely supportive. On the conference call, we told her that we wanted to throw Amanda a surprise party at her house with Amanda’s few close friends from school and her family.

Amanda’s mother came up with a plan to distract Amanda while I arrived with my mother and the rest of the girls to set up the party and receive the guests.

The week before the surprise party, Amanda asked us during lunch if we would like to join her for dinner with her family Friday night to celebrate her birthday. None of us knew what to say and we all made up random excuses. She knew we were hiding something, but she thought that we just didn’t want to hang out with her because we all thought she was boring for not doing a big party, and just having dinner with her family.

I remember lying to Amanda was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, especially when I have always been so bad at keeping secrets [Did you feel a sense of loyalty, guilt or anxiety?]. I kept her surprise party a secret for a month. Trying to avoid the subject and seeing her at school almost every day didn’t make it more easier [Relate to class: Keeping a confidentiality puts tremendous burden on the agent.] . I was so excited that every time we were talking I just wanted to scream the words out. I remember feeling guilty about the situation, and things did get a bit strange between us for one week, but I always kept saying to myself that I wasn’t doing anything wrong [Relate to ethos.] and that she was going to love the surprise [Relate to pathos.]. And she did.

Leave a Reply

