Assignment 6: I’ve got a secret

[Keep paragraphs short. No one wants to read giant blocks of text.] My sister was applying for medical schools, and at this time, she had already received 3 rejection letters and she was convinced that she would not make it into any medical school after all her years of hard work [run-on sentence]. I had picked up the mail one afternoon and saw that my sister had received a letter from a medical school. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] My mother, who felt sorry for my sister, decided to open up the letter without my sisters [sister’s] permission to see if she had gotten in or not, just in case she was rejected from another school. Unfortunately, my sister did not make it into that school. My mother was upset, [no comma] and made me promise that I would not tell my sister that we got her letter, opened it, and hid it from her. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] I felt guilty because I knew my sister was waiting for a response from this school. But I also felt like I had to lie to her because my mother had asked me too, and because I did not want to see her cry over another rejection letter [Relate to class: Keeping a confidentiality puts tremendous burden on the agent.]. I was in a compromising position because she would come home and ask if she had received a letter specifically from that school that she did not get in to for about two weeks. It was uncomfortable to say the least to be lying everyday [two words] to her face. But I knew it was for her benefit, because her knowing that she got rejected from yet another school, she would have wanted to give up before she had even gotten accepted anywhere [run-on sentence]. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] I felt guilty because I knew my sister was waiting for a response from this school. But I also felt like I had to lie to her. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] Fortunately, since that last rejection letter, she was accepted into 3 schools over the next few weeks. My mom and I did eventually tell her what we did. At first, she was bothered that we opened her medical school letters without her permission and kept it from her, but she did later come to understand our reasoning behind what we did.

I did have to constantly lie to my sister for two weeks in order to guard my mother’s and my secret, which is why secrecy and lying are linked together. In order to guard our secret, I had to lie. I would either tell my sister that I didn’t know if the mail had gotten to the house yet or that her letter from the school had not gotten there yet. Keeping this secret did give me a sense of empowerment because I was controlling the flow of information to my sister. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] In a way, I also felt like I was controlling her happiness by her not receiving bad news. Though I was withholding information, for her own benefit, I was still not sharing a piece of information that she had every right to know. I tried to make sure that the fourth rejection letter did not affect her emotional state. In this case, my lie did not cause my sister and I to argue or bring us apart, but this does not always happen. In most cases, even if you lie to protect someone, it can break up your relationship.

Leave a Reply

