Impossible Secrecy

YOU DIDN’T CATEGORIZE YOUR POST. I’M DEDUCTING FIVE POINTS.

I’m not good with secrets. Few times in my life I’ve found myself in a situation where I need to keep something quiet to save myself, but I have had to keep secrets to protect someone else. Secrecy is very hard to achieve, specially if you are someone like me, who likes to talk and make conversation like the world is an empty piece of paper and I’m the pen. 

A friend relied on me once to keep a secret. She had cheated on her boyfriend, a really good friend of mine, with another guy; and she was not planning on telling the truth. Somehow she thought that telling me was a good idea, and that she could trust me. I found myself facing an important dilemma: should I keep this secret? or should I reveal what I know, and hurt two friends in the process?

This situation did everything but empowered me. It gave me a load I wasn’t supposed to carry, stressing me out and making me the center of a problem that did not belonged to me in the first place. Others close to us suspected the situation, and they wanted answers. They were scared our dear friend was going to get hurt, so they wanted to know. The knew I had information, but I couldn’t reveal it; it was not my case to solve.

Constant pressure from others and the inside fear I felt of seeing my friend getting hurt made me speak. Not to him, but to her. I told her that if she didn’t tell him, then I would; and that I didn’t appreciate her placing this intense pressure on me, without need.

She caved. My secret was released, and I now longer needed to beat myself over this private fact. This new information wrecked chaos. A relationship was over. A very personal friendship took a huge turn, when my friend could not believe I didn’t tell him as soon as i knew. That was to be expected though, and he soon realized it was not my story to tell and forgave me. 

I am not a fan of secrecy. It involves lying, hiding and scamming. I like to think I was taught better. Truth is, sometimes in life I will face situations where keeping a secret will be my only choice, and I do expect to handle it better. For the time being I’ll remain like an open book; nothing to hide and a lot of stories to tell.

YOU DIDN’T MENTION BLEVENS AT ALL. YOU WROTE A DIARY ENTRY. YOU DIDN’T ENGAGE THE LECTURE CONCEPTS AT ALL.

Leave a Reply

