Solitude-The I and the Self.

When analyzing the idea of solitude presented by Deresiewicz I found myself but in a different perspective. Yes, it is true that this is the era where the self revolves about the concept of being recognized by others. Nevertheless, when it comes to me [comma] I find the necessity to be recognized not to nurture the ego, but rather as requirement in order to be able to shape our society. In order to be able to alter the pillars of our civilization [comma] we need to be recognized by its members. I utilize the media as a vehicle to make humanity reflect about their decisions, but not to glorify my ideals.

In addition, despite the fact that I constantly lucubrate about the state of my “self,” it is a quite remarkable experience to consciously perform this act. I find solitude a necessary companion in order to create and innovate, in order to explore the depth of my soul. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] Nevertheless, because the disconnection from the world in this case was not performed due to an intrinsic desire, but rather due to an order, my self did not totally embrace it. In this case [comma] the analytical bifurcation between the I and the self that solitude usually provides to me turned into some sort of antagonistic relationship between what I needed to do and what I wanted to do.  [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] Consequently, despite the fact that I found the “journey” unpleasant, it is the quintessence of the ideas presented by Deresiewicz.  Solitude allowed me to further expand the concept that I have of my self, it served me as shovel to excavate my soul and find fragments that I did not know it contained.

Furthermore, due to the fact that I was aware of the findings that I was making about my self during the process, I decided to eschew the use of faux social activities to alleviate the anxiety that the situation produced.  It was sine qua non to explore all the emotions that the seclusion provoked inside of me to be able to fully understand my rebellious nature. If I would have alleviated the excruciating pain, I would have not understood how the rebellious part of my self ushered my behavior. Now I am able to comprehend that it constitutes a considerably large part of the reason why I behave in a certain fashion. [good insight]

Finally, it is also interesting how the lack of information about the external world affected my mechanism to take decisions. As an example, since I had no information about traffic I went to places 30 minutes before the regular time I regularly traveled to my destinations. The lack of information made me carefully analyze my surroundings, to the extent that it generated a sense of insecurity inside the self. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] We take access to careful information about our surroundings for granted, and when we lose it the self falls into a state of commotion. Such necessity for information reflects how our primitive fear of the “unknown” shapes our perception of life. As a result, it can be claimed that news are a necessary intrusion to our solitude. They reinforce the notions of security that the self has. [How do these insights relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

Leave a Reply

