Individual Assignment 5: 48-hour news blackout

Veronica Roman

IDS3009

Team: 06

Student ID: 5152184

23 February 2016

Throughout the weekend I isolated myself from social media. I didn’t know what was going on in the world, the latest trends, or what my friends and family were up to during the weekend. This assignment was very hard for me to commit especially during a weekend where I usually spend my time catching up with the latest news. [Relate to Deresiewicz essay.]   [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] I completely shut down for two days and decided to spend the day at the beach on Saturday. I also started to read a book all over again that I had never finished reading and finally, I got ahead on my homework assignments for the University on Sunday.

During those two days, I did find my self-anxious. Since we live in the twenty- first century everyone around me was talking about the news or a new music video etc. I found a few things to distract myself with, but I also felt alone. I will admit there were a few times where I had the temptation to look at my phone, and it made me think how foolish it is that nowadays everyone is so attached to their mobile devices and social media. [Good insights. How do they relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

When I went to the beach on Saturday, I had a different experience. I was able to appreciate nature even more. While everybody was looking at their phones and taking selfies [Relate to McLuhan’s saying, “The medium is the message.”] , I was catching on with an old book.

The article “The End of Solitude” by William Deresiewicz discusses how solitude has changed throughout the years and how it affects society. Deresiewicz believes that “technology is taking away society’s privacy” (Deresiewicz 1). Deresiewicz argues how today’s society use technology as a way for to not feel alone. Given Deresiewicz description of isolation and my experience of isolating myself, I have to agree with Deresiewicz theory. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] Being from the millennial generation, I have never experienced being by myself. Using social platforms such as Facebook, Instagram or Twitter, it allows society to stay in contact with friends and family even with some that live far. Technology has also allowed us to be more educated, by being updated with the latest newscast.

Deresiewicz final opinion of his essay was that we should all experience being alone from technology at some point in our life’s to find ourselves. I, however, have to disagree with this point. Maybe disconnecting once a while won’t hurt. Today we do depend too much on our cell phones, but it’s also a way to keep us connected to others, anywhere at anyplace. I moved from Puerto Rico five years ago, and social websites like Facebook made it easier for me to stay in touch with my friends and family. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] In my opinion, we should all have a limit when using technology. For example, when dining with our families, we must consider disconnecting from our smartphones. Overall [comma] I don’t think I could disconnect myself from technology again because I like to stay updated with the latest news and stay connected with the people that surround me in my life.

Works Cited:

Deresiewicz, William. “The End of “Discovery”.” The End of Solitude (2009): 1-6. Web. 16 Feb. 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

