48 hour news blackout

I knew that starting this weekend without any news was going to be a difficult task, but I didn’t know it would be basically impossible. My 48-hour blackout started in the morning, I logged off all my social media accounts, in order not to be tempted to look at any news. I even went as far as asking my family to not talk to me about anything that’s happening around the world.

Everything was going smoothly until two hours in [period mark] I started to wonder if I was missing out on anything. I knew that it couldn’t be anything too major because it had only been two hours, but I still had the urge to grab my phone and go on Facebook. Instead I went outside and played basketball with my brother to distract myself. When I went back inside I immediately opened Facebook. It wasn’t until I saw that I was logged off that I remembered that I couldn’t read about any news. It was almost as though it was instinct to just pick up my phone and click on the app. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

It’s not just Facebook that fills our heads with news and information that is happening all around us, [period mark] any site gives you an idea of what people are talking about. I had to completely disconnect myself and the scary thought was that I didn’t know how. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] Even while I’m out with friends or having a family get together I find myself updating my Snapchat, posting on Instagram or searching through Twitter. It’s like I have a need to give my followers a play by play of my life, even though at the end of the day no one cares. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

The first night of my news block out was the toughest part. I usually fall asleep with the television on watching a late-night show or even a news channel. That night I had to turn off my television, silence my phone and just go straight to sleep because I knew Jimmy Fallon would joke about something on the news that day. I kept wondering what was happening? Did Trump say something that made everyone outraged? Will it rain tomorrow or just be humid? I started to feel isolated from the world. I didn’t like it at all. I was anxious to know what everyone else knew and I couldn’t just sit still a take a nap like I would have liked.

Deresiewicz says that we live in the Web age that relates to the fear of being alone.  I completely agree. I noticed that I was out of the loop in everything. News is just thrown in our faces, even if you aren’t looking for it.  We take it for granted and don’t even notice until we disconnect. I knew about things happening on the other side of the world that I won’t ever have to deal with but someone had posted about it on their site and now it was available to be and everyone else. We let others think for us and let them convince us of things that we don’t know about just because they showed us a five minute video about it on YouTube. It’s time to start thinking for ourselves.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

