48 hour blackout

 

Technology has given us a gift or the way to stay connected with people that we could not see to stay in contact before. It has generated a highway of getting on us closer and given us the chance of staying communicate at all times through social media, phones, apps, etc. Also, it has given us an unlimited access of information not only for personal time, but also in the professional part (networking). This does not mean that If we would like to disconnect, explore, and evaluate ourselves we could not do it.

 

I see myself in his argument due to that I am direct user of technology. I text message, I have Twitter and Facebook accounts, I own a phone and everything possible you could think of I do through to my IPhone. But, I do not see myself represented in his article where he states that “Technology is taking away our privacy and our concentration, but it is also taking away our ability to be alone”, because I am the type of person that like to be myself at some point during the day, I admire the silence, I love to read books so not meaning isolated it in a room, but just not talking to anyone.

 

At the beginning when I threw myself in the forty-eight-hour Blackout, nothing seemed to different. I went to work Friday morning and left my phone at the house. It felt weird at some point because usually when the store get slow I take my phone start readings the news, and check on Facebook so what I did was helped the other departments with anything they needed and I went through all the overstock, and started replenishing  [run-on sentence]. Afterwards I read book and went to sleep.  [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

 

The second day It was a harder due to that every morning that I wake up I read the morning briefing of the New York Times, so I started sense a feeling of anxiety and lost at the same time during the middle of the day, so every once in a while I would check my pocket for my phone and this remind to the  second paragraph when it is stated that “I was told by one of her older relatives that a teenager I know had sent 3,000 text messages one recent month. That’s 100 a day, or about one every 10 waking minutes, morning, noon, and night, weekdays and weekends, class time, lunch time, homework time, and tooth brushing time. So on average, she’s never alone for more than 10 minutes at once. Which means, she’s never alone.” Because I just wanted to see Facebook, read the news, or even sent a text. It was stressing and panicking, so I exercised later that day to drain all those feelings and went for an hour run, which I have not done since last year. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

 

The hardest part of the Blackout was not knowing what was going in my surroundings, so when it was done it was a relief. You can relate  to solitude because it was like an isolation type of thing. Like I mentioned before, I enjoy my “me” time, but the disconnection from the outside without any type of news it did not felt right. [How do these feelings relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

 

Finally, I do not agree that news is an intruder for our solitude. We live in a world that is globalized where we need to stay inform, and is also easier to stay inform due to advancement in technology, but this should not block us from having our own time. Personality is a big influence here too.

 

Leave a Reply

