News Blackout

After 48 hours of being disconnected from all forms of news, and social media my experiences put me on both ends of a spectrum. On one hand, my personality is naturally very introverted and  I enjoy being by myself. In a way, forcing myself to put down my phone, and not use any social media I felt more creative and got a lot of more work done. On the other hand, I become very bored and anxious after forcing myself to do something I don’t really want to do. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] The first day was the most difficult because it was a subconscious habit to open Instagram or Twitter every few minutes. Forcing myself not to take part in those activities made me feel like I was missing out on something. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] This made me think about Deresiewicz and how afraid students were of being alone. With social media and news being so instant, and becoming more of a necessity in our lives people who were born into this don’t understand any other way of living. I grew up drawing, playing with siblings, and not knowing what my friends or family were doing unless we talked at school, or got together at a party, not much of my time was spent watching news or going on the computer. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

Nowadays, knowing what everyone in my life is doing by something as simple as a text or tweet makes communication more of a necessity. On the second day of my social media and news ban I was still forcing myself to stay away from my phone, but it wasn’t as much as a subconscious need to know what others were doing, it was more out of boredom. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] In the 48 hours I did a lot of writing, and painting because those are things I usually do when I have free time, but I think I was more prone to these hobbies to distract myself from the boredom and solitude. I don’t think news creates more solitude by making us think for ourselves, I think it brings us together more than before because we are forced to see what people around the country are going through, and with that we start considering our place in society and how things may affect us. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] We definitely take news for granted because we don’t realize how much of our lives is actually news. For instance, looking at the weather app on my phone could have made me realize to bring an umbrella to school, but without it, I was stranded on campus without any protection. Little things like google maps also helps us find a faster route and warns us of upcoming traffic due to accidents. Without news like this our lives are much more difficult and we don’t have as much of an advantage on the day than we do with such news. [How do these insights relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?]

Last year, I went on a social media cleanse and deleted all of my apps, this assignment reminded me of that time and how little I depended on connecting with people I didn’t really know like celebrities or trends, and helped me focus on the things in my immediate control, like my close friends, school work and my family. If I can remember the importance of these things instead of focusing on how bored or alone I feel, maybe I can slowly detach from the necessity of instant news and social media. [good insight]

Leave a Reply

