News Blackout

What Deresiewicz writes in “The End of Solitude” is very relatable to what most of us feel, especially when interacting through social media. Because of how easy it is to connect through social media, we can say that we are all globally connected. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] The truth is, this technology also isolates us to only existing on the Internet. Being online makes us want to be more likeable and popular by posting pictures with friends on Instagram, sharing videos of our fun lives on SnapChat, and being humorous on Twitter. [good insights]

A few years back, we used to be okay with being alone for hours, our families and friends were only a phone call away. Now, we can be in contact with anyone from any part of the world in any time of the day. When we wake up, we check our phones. When we’re in class, we’re on our phones. Even when we’re driving, people can’t seem to disconnect for a few minutes. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] I am displeased to admit it, but I see myself in Deresiewicz’s argument. The minute I’m not messaging my friends or going through my Twitter timeline, I feel slightly alone. However, unlike some people that are always surrounded by others, I’m not afraid of being alone. In fact, I enjoy it.

With the news blackout, I experienced I liked being physically alone, not necessarily kept out of the Internet. In the mornings during the blackout, I avoided using my phone at all costs, but I didn’t find it difficult to stay away. As the day continued, I found it hard to ignore some of my messages and go on Twitter. Thankfully, we didn’t discuss any news related topics during classes. I kept busy by working on photography projects and doing some writing, something that I always put off until I have to do it. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] At first, I did feel in the dark; I barely talked to my friends and kept all communications on social media to a minimum. However, by the end of the afternoon, I didn’t feel anxious about what was going on the Internet. In fact, I felt calm and concentrated, like a naïve child. By the time the 48 hours ran up, I was glad to be back to a “normal” life.

After going through the news blackout, I can analyze that we do take news outlets for granted. It felt strange not knowing what was happening, whether it be knowing what’s trending on Twitter or what Trump’s administration was going to do next. I was anxious at first because I had to change my daily routine just a little, but after a few hours it felt good to disconnect from the world. The solitude that I experienced has helped me realize that it is good to isolate yourself from news outlets and social media platforms because it recalibrates us. We shouldn’t be afraid of feeling alone, we should embrace it. [good insights]

Leave a Reply

