Deresiewicz Solitary Assgn.

[Write short paragraphs. It’s difficult to read or understand one giant blob of text.]

Since, placing myself on this sort of solitary confinement, disconnecting myself from news, and social media essentially, I have found myself experiencing boredom, [period mark] In the text [comma] it is defined as an negative experience of a state. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] I did however, spend a lot of time thinking and analyzing myself, the people I surround myself with, my behavior, I even began to measure my happiness. I found myself becoming very depressed, sad and crying. This is something I experience when I become stressed or feel alone, which is exactly how I felt during this time of solitude. I can say however, I do however from time to time go into a depressive state but never have I induced it. [How do these feelings relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] In order to fill the void, I tried to study, and a realized that focusing for longs periods of time did not work for me, maybe because I’m used to looking at Facebook, or Snapchat every ten minutes. Finding social events to attend wasn’t difficult, however mustering up the courage to attend these events was hard. In a social setting, I experience anxiety and I tend to separate myself from the crowd due to my lack of experience in socializing with people.  In the argument about this culture of celebrity, I picture myself and realize how much this truly applies to me. I measure the amount of followers I have on Instagram as we as the number of likes I get on a single picture. It is like having status and people do recognize you from your social media accounts. [good insight] I almost feed off of the amount of attention and love I get from social media and oddly enough it does validate a person to a certain extent, it allows me to feel on top of the world and I do feel as though from social media I sort of developed a small fan base [Keep sentences short.]. I don’t have information that I normally rely on like the weather to make decisions. I usually do not watch the news or weather reports to determine how I will go about my day. I’m pretty good at interpreting the weather on my own based off of how hot, cold or windy it is, along with this innate ability to smell rain, before it actually falls. The news is important as it tells us about the things happening in our cities, states as well as with our government. It keeps us in the know and the younger generation takes it for granted more than any previous generation. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] We are the Social Media and Internet generation. From my experience the news is a necessary intrusion of our solitude, only because at times news reports can be the fine line between life and death. For example the news may warn us of a predator in the area, it sometimes warns us about natural disasters that may be heading our way, as well as terrorist attacks.  We surely take the news for granted. Most of us do not watch it and are only informed because we are told by our parents and maybe through a fellow friend on facebook, Instagram or snapchat. [How might you act on these insights? How might your media consumption change?]

Leave a Reply

