Blackout Yeferson

My experience over the past weekend with not being able to refer to any type of news was difficult. I printed out directions to my conference over the weekend to Orlando, and I just relied on the sheet of paper. I took a wrong turn and had to ask someone for directions back onto the turnpike to find Leesburg. I didn’t bring an umbrella nor a thick sweater on the weekend because I couldn’t check the weather. The article refers something Calvinism created in which being alone focuses on the inward soul to have an encounter with God. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

During the conference, there were plenty of times where I had to leave conversations because my friends and conference attendees included news talk such as ESPN and explained that I was doing an assignment so they forgave me for being rude and leaving the dinner table. After I would leave, I would take a stroll outside in the nature walk and reflect in on myself, my spiritual life and just admiring how blessed my life is. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

Leaving the social media aspect affected me negatively during the conference because I was appointed as a fam [Avoid jargon. What does FAM stand for?] group leader and we were encouraged to use social media to post about our time together, activities we did throughout the week and other things throughout the conference. I encouraged other students to use social media to post about our experiences rather than being able to lead by example. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

Socially, I was able to build relationships with random individuals at the conference, as well as this other girl I brought with me to the conference, instead of focusing on social media and being a part of the social norm, especially being a college student, and just focus in on my cell phone like everyone else [run-on sentence]. It challenged me to create topics of conversation, to intentionally want to build a relationship with that individual and really challenged me to listen to their story instead of just hearing them while having the distraction of social media, news and other forms of media. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

During the evening, I would replace my habit of checking my phone for news, emails, social media and social news with reading my Bible and having a time of devotion to prayer and supplication with the Lord. The exercise really got me back into the habit I used to have of reading my Bible, focusing on the spiritual aspect of my life, my prayer life and being intentional with people to build relationships. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

My experience with the news blackout made me understand that news should be an intrusion to our solitude to survive with the rest of the social world. The news should be a resource that we should be able to use to our advantage for self-reflection, shape our understanding of the world and then use the news as talking points and discussion to mold the way we look at the world. [good insight]

Solitude shouldn’t be something people take for granted [comma] but it should be a resource we has human beings should take advantage of to build our psyche, spirituality and just in general being kept sane. It should be a time of reflection to see what area in our lives need improvements so that we are able to perform better in our day-to-day lives. [How might you act on these insights? How might your media consumption change?]

About acostayef
My name is Yef

Leave a Reply

