Assignment 5 48 – hour news blackout

When the professors explained the assignment on Thursday my mouth literally open. NO NEWS FOR 48 HOURS. My main problem wasn’t staying away from the news on TV , it was not being able to look at my Facebook, and the Buzzfeed app on my phone. I’m clearly addicted to social media, like the rest of the population. My phone is always in my hands and I’m constantly checking my apps for any gossip or news that have occurred. This assignment was quite difficult to complete. [How do these feelings relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

I couldn’t possibly keep away from news over the weekend. Currently, elections for a new president are taking place in my country, Ecuador. It’s a challenge to get news coverage from Ecuador. The news media in the U.S seems to forget my country exist. Social media like  Facebook and the website Universo.com (the newspaper from Ecuador) is where my family and I must look for what’s going on in Ecuador. Following the directions on the assignment been  extended until Thursday,  I was relieved. I decided to unplug on Monday and Tuesday. I figured it won’t be difficult to achieve this goal. [Relate to Deresiewicz essay.]

Monday was the first official day without news . With so much homework due I thought it would be easy to get my mind off the news. I decided to begin preparing a review for my marketing class, since I have a test next Monday. The first few hours did not seem to bother me,. I was focused and was studying, but suddenly I had this urge to open Facebook and catch on what I had missed for the past two hours. What can I have possibly missed, another engagement post or a baby announcement. I said to myself “No Emilia is not worth it”. I went on with my day without opening any apps on my phone, not even the weather app. I would say the first day was not as difficult as I thought. I did feel an impulse to check my phone, but I had enough courage to avoid the news. [How do these feelings relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

On Tuesday, the last day of this madness. I almost failed, because first thing I did when I woke up was to check my Facebook, sad I know. I catch myself almost opening the app and quickly put my phone to the side. I decided that today I would continue with my homework and dedicate all my time to a project. I took a break and decided to stop my grandmother’s house, big mistake. As soon I walked in the first thing out of my aunt mouth was “Did you hear what happen in Ecuador!” Oh, god what now, Jesus I couldn’t even check she quickly turn her phone to me. How do I explain to these people that I can’t know what going on?  Then a sudden anxiety kicked in, my hands were itching to grab my phone, just too see for myself the events that are taking place in my country. I pulled myself together and went on with my day, and unplugged. [How do these feelings relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

Therefore, I think this assignment really taught me that I take the amount of news I received through varies form of medias for granted. We all have the privilege to have this small little device that allow us to have the news in our hand. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

Leave a Reply

