48 in the twilight zone

According to William Deresiewicz, today we are not able to be alone, and we have the necessity to interact with people. With those words in mind I started my assignment.

The first day was easy to deal with not news or social media since it was Friday. I went to work from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm, and later I went to the gym for an hour. after that, I decided to spend the day at my friend’s house because it was his birthday. All my friends were aware of my assignment; for that reason, they didn’t talk about news. We decided to talk about our day at school and play board games, which we normally do.

The only think that I change at Friday was not listening the radio in the morning since I like to hear 107.5 and all the funny stories they tell.

The first 24 hours passed without notices; however, the problems started on Saturday. I had a second birthday -now from my sister. I needed to prepare the party for her in my house, so I went Target. when I got there, the assignment started to look complicate [complicated] since my mother was trying to reach all our friends to meet at the house, and I was the only one who knew how to use social media at my house, for those who were at work and couldn´t [apostrophe, not accent mark] pick the phone. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

knowing the consecuenques [SP: consequences] , I decided to explain my mother trought [SP: ??] phone how to use Facebook. She got mad at me for not doing it by myself, and she was trying to understand what good came from the assignment. thanks to that I noticed   Deresiewicz was right about people being depended [SP: dependent] to contact with other.

Later on, at the party, I tried to spend the less time possible there because my family and friends might talked [tense: talk about] something that I shouldn´t hear, so I went to my room after singing happy birthday to my sister.

It had passed 30 hours and I don’t know what to do.

Being in my room without anybody was hard. The necessity to do something and not wasting my time, made me to start drawing. It worked for one hour, but at the end I was more anxious that before. I tried to read a book, but it got me bored. I tried to talk to my girlfriend about her day, but she didn’t pick the phone. I analyzed the situation and got to the conclusion that it was the fact of knowing my limitations from the assignment what made me be so anxious.  [good insight]

I also concluded the importance of watching news; most people, especially my age,  like to watch news just to have a topic to talk about but not for the idea that something important is happening in the world. This idea came from Deresiewicz in his paper. [good insight]

Finally, I went to sleep. Next morning, I woke up opening my phone to knew [tense: know] what I missed. I discover that nothing had change, but at least my anxiety went out. I became again a slave of news. [good insight]

 

Leave a Reply

