48 Hour Blackout

This 48-hour News Blackout was very interesting. When it comes to social media or anything pertaining to news, depending where I am, my phone is go to. Whether it’s local news, world news or celebrity news, my phone and Channel 7 or 10 News is where I run to. We are in a technological revolution so I can view the news anywhere and everywhere I go. [Good insights. How do they relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?]

This has not been the first time that I have gone an extended period of time without my phone. Every summer I go on vacation to Jamaica for several weeks where I don’t use my phone or watch much tv. However, there is a huge difference between being in Jamaica and being at home with no media. When I am in Jamaica [comma] it is much easier to go without it because I have all kinds of stuff to do like swimming in the river or minding the chicken coop. Going 48 hours without media at home is way harder than I thought. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

I started the 48-hour news blackout on Saturday at 9 am. I logged out of all my social medias and disabled my notifications. At first it didn’t seem like it would be much of a big deal because I was busy at home helping my grandma with her fish sale. Later that night I went to L.A Fitness with my cousin and there were TVs all around. Around 9pm most of the screens were tuned into CNN. I usually use the elliptical machines but I decided to skip cardio because it would be impossible not to look up at the screen. I used other workout equipment that were far from the TVs and listened to some music so I wouldn’t be distracted by anyone. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

The following day, the hardest thing to do was avoid the TV. There is a TV in every room in my house but everyone gravitates towards the living room during the day to watch. I did my best to avoid watching it by listening to music to block out the sound. This assignment prevented me from being able to stay connected to what was going on in the world. Twitter, Instagram and Facebook are my main social media platforms. 48-hours without Twitter was one of the biggest challenges. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

From this experience, I Learned that news and media is important and without it I feel clueless to what is taking place in the world. It also helped me realize how much I rely on technology and that I should want to go outside and explore more.

Leave a Reply

