Secret’s Blog

A few years ago back in high school I was told a secret by one of my closes [SP: closest] friends. Outside the classrooms, in a low shy tone, which I could not believe belong to her since she was one of the loudest people I’ve ever known, she confessed to me that she was bisexual. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] She was scared of what I would say – [period mark] in the days before [comma] she had been acting weird [comma] but I just thought it was stress from basketball. She looked at me as if I was [verb mood: were] going to reject her or talk down to her, she was afraid to tell me [already established]. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] When I responded and told her ok I did not care about her preferences she was still someone I would care about no matter what, she broke down. Telling me how she feared I was going to push her away and how she had been acting weird because when she told her father her secret she had been kicked out of the house and now was living with her grandparents [sentence fragment].

At the time [comma] little 14-year-old me did not know that this secret would bond our friendship for a lifetime. She was a year older than me and someone I admired for her beauty, smarts, athletic ability, friendliness, and an overall good heart. It was hard for me to imagine that people would think less of her because of this secret [comma] but when she told me what her own father had done I knew I had to protect the secret. It was my prima facia duty, and my duty as her best friend to not let anyone know [excellent insight]. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] Unfortunately, there were people who had suspicions and knew that we were close and they would question me. My best friend was a very popular girl, there was a good amount of people that questioned me about who she liked, why was she upset at certain things, and why her dad stopped showing up to her games.
[Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] I lied my entire way through all the questions and suspicions, it was very hard for me because I am just an awful lair [SP: liar]. The justifications of my lies was that I had to protect my friend. I was an insider to the secret and my friendship was at stake, the outsides wanted gossip, entertainment, and to have control over her in some way. After she admitted to me her secret it was my choice to guard the secret.
[Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] In terms of power [comma] it gave me power of identity because my loyalty as person was tested, something to this day I still think is one of my strongest traits. I knew who I was well enough to know who my real friend was and her worth to me as a friend. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] I know lies hurt people [comma] but this case I knew that it would hurt her more if others knew. In the end [comma] when we were a little older and she was comfortable telling people herself [comma] it all worked out and our friendship grew stronger.

Leave a Reply

