Secrecy

Last year I was employed at Dunkin Donuts at my old community college [comma] and since it was on a college campus most of my employees were students and got a long really well, and we knew most of our customers personally [run-on sentence]. Working the night shift was always more relaxed than the day shift [comma] and we didn’t have our store manager around most of the time because she left after five o’clock. That being said, a lot of things that wouldn’t be allowed while she was watching were done and we didn’t have to worry about getting in trouble for giving away a coffee or two. One of my closest colleagues, Amanda, was usually getting called out for giving away donuts or sandwiches by our shift manager, but our shift manager was much more lenient so it was never a big deal. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] However, one day our store manager talked to us all and explained that she knew someone was giving away too many drinks and food, [period mark] our profit was lower than it should have been and whoever did it would be fired. We all knew we did it sometimes, but we also knew who did it the most, Ashley. I didn’t like being put in this situation because I didn’t want Ashley getting fired, but I also didn’t want this to jeopardize my position at work. [Relate to class: A secret can hurt people, intended or not.] 

My store manager started pulling people aside one by one asking if we’ve seen anyone on the night shift giving away free things to customers, or eating some of the food when they weren’t on break. The next day, I was called to the office and was asked the questions everyone said they had been asked. I answered them as truthfully as possible, but I knew they weren’t going to let me go unless I named someone, and my manager also knew Ashley and I were close so she was probing me. [Do you think the person trying to penetrate the secret had a desire to know, gain control, feel superior, or be intimate?] I didn’t think it was fair that I was being pushed to give up someones [punctuation: someone’s] name [Did you feel a sense of loyalty, guilt or anxiety? Were you angry at having to lie or otherwise act contrary to your morals to protect the secret?] , and I didn’t want to get my friend fired so I politely said that I hadn’t seen anyone stealing or giving away free food .

My manager finally let me go [comma] and Ashley asked if [whether] I said anything. I reassured her that I didn’t say any names and that was the end of everyone’s questions. However, the next day I got a text from Ashley saying she got fired, and she heard that I was the one who told on her. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] That instantly upset me because I went through a tough situation of lying to my employer, and putting my credibility on the line for her [Relate to class: You kept a confidentiality out of a prima facie duty and to show loyalty to a peer.] , and in the end she still got fired, and she believed that I was the one who told [run-on sentence]. I lied to keep our friendship but in the end our friendship still ended over that, and it wasn’t worth it . I realized that lying for the sake of someone else when it could change how I am seen as a person, [no comma] or ruin my credibility was something I never wanted to do again.

Leave a Reply

