I’ve Got a Secret- Daniel

[Organize your writing into paragraphs. No one wants to read a 500-word block.] Secrets can be very difficult in keeping [comma] especially when it has to do with something very personal to someone. I have been in that position of holding a secret from my own family, [no comma] to protect my cousin who came out to me a few years ago. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] Our family is very conservative and religious, they still have a mindset that marriage should only be between a man and women and that being gay is just phase. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] My cousin’s name is Ashely [SP] and were about the same age, and ever since we were little she always told me her secrets and I will always tell her mine. When we were both in high school she will come over my house afterschool [two words], but this time I remember seeing her with a gloomy face like if she was crying and she told me she needed to tell me a secret that I needed to swear not to tell anyone [run-on sentence]. There was so many things going through my head of what she could’ve been hiding. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] After she wiped her tears, she looked straight at me and said “I am Gay [lowercase].” At first I was shocked, but after taking it in I gave her a big hug told her that “I love you and that you being gay will never change how I view you as a person.” [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] This experience of her coming out to me first was probably the most memorable and emotional moment of my life, not only because she came out to me but to put her trust in me was something I will never take for granted. [Relate to class: You kept a confidentiality out of a prima facie duty and to show loyalty to a peer.] [How did the experience empower you, the other person, or both of you?] [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] After a year of coming out to me [comma] Ashley text me one day telling me that her mom might have found out that she was gay, [no comma] because she found text messages on her phone from her than [SP: then] girlfriend. She didn’t know what to do and wasn’t ready to come out to her parents just yet [comma] so she decided to stay at her girlfriend’s house for the night and that she will [tense: would] talk to them the next day.  [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] My aunt called me that night and asked me if I knew where she was, but I lied to her and said I didn’t know. Lying to my aunt was a feeling I didn’t like, but I knew I needed to protect Ashely’s secret until she was ready to them herself. [Relate to class: Keeping a confidentiality puts tremendous burden on the agent.] [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] After doing the readings and sharing my story [comma] I now see the similarity between confidentiality and lying. If I had shared Ashley’s secret with her family [comma] it probably would’ve been worse for her because her family would have taken it harder if she hadn’t told them herself and we probably wouldn’t be as close to each other anymore because I decided to come out for her when it should be the other way [run-on sentence]. I can see how not sharing secrets with people can have its benefits because now Ashely [SP] came out to them on her own and today they accept her fully for who she is.

Leave a Reply

