I’ve a secret

[Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph. No one wants to read a giant block of 500 words.] Over the course of my lifetime I have kept and spilled many secrets. I have never been very good at keeping secrets.  Unless it’s a very delicate secret that would’ve serious consequences if it were to come out [sentence fragment]. In that case I would never tell a dangerous secret of that sort to anyone. I sometimes prefer not to be told or know anyone’s secret’s [punctuation: secrets]. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] The most recent secret I had to keep was from my boyfriend’s best friend who was coming back from the Navy for spring break and didn’t want my boyfriend or any of our friends to know. It was going to be a huge surprise for everyone. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] A week before he came to Miami, he messaged me that he was going to come home from the Navy to surprise his friends and family. Only two people knew about the surprise from our friend group and one of them was me. He was to land in Miami on Friday night and surprise the whole group. The plan was to surprise the group at the bowling alley while they were bowling. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] I had to lie to my boyfriend during the week of the surprise, to protect him from knowing the truth. I wanted him to be just as surprise as everyone else in the group. There were many times that I wanted to just tell him and make him swear not to tell anyone but I knew I couldn’t do that. I knew that if I told my boyfriend there was a chance that he might spilled the secret also and then the whole surprise would be ruined. I had to protect the secret from him and everyone else. I had to hold my tongue for just a week. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] So when the day of the surprise finally came around [comma] I had to lie to my boyfriend and tell him I couldn’t go bowling because I had a work event at night which I absolutely couldn’t miss. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] He then said he didn’t want to go bowling without me, this almost made me spill the secret but I got around it my convincing him I would met him at the bowling alley after my work event. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] Meanwhile, when the group was at bowling. Two [comma and lowercase] of us were on our way to the airport to pick him up. The surprise was successful, everyone was happy when we arrived at the bowling alley. After reviewing the variable’s [punctuation] , [no comma] we covered in class, I didn’t feel empowered by the experience. I felt awful for lying even if it was for a positive outcome. It felt wrong to lie to others and pretend to be doing something else. [Relate to class: Keeping a confidentiality puts tremendous burden on the agent.] [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] I felt that overall I did the right thing by being confidential to my friend’s surprise because that was something important to him. I’m glad I kept the secret even if It made me feel awful lying to my boyfriend. I prefer not to know anyone’s secrets, so I don’t have to be worried about lying and confidentiality.

Leave a Reply

