Lies/Secrets

A situation that I felt compelled to lie in order to keep a secret because I promise her confidentiality occurred a few years ago, when I used to live in a small country town in California. I was about 19 years old and my best friend was about 18. I knew her family because we used to go to college and work together and we also carpooled to work [run-on sentence].

While she was still living with her parents, she was dating a guy and she told me about her relation, and she asked me to keep that in secrecy from their family [run-on sentence]. She told me that they would not understand because they were very old fashioned [hyphenate], and I understood because that is the culture of people who live in small country towns.

It was hard for me to lie to her mom or sister because I knew them and I got to see them frequently, but I had to do it so my friend could avoid problems with her family [run-on sentence]. I if they would called me for example, asking if she was with me, I would lie and say that she was in my house and figured out an excuse why she was not responding the call.

In this case, her family were the outsiders, and I was the insider because I had the information that they wanted to know. I did not feel having the control on my friend because we were very close friends [comma] and I was happy that she was happy with her boyfriend. As I would not tell anyone about her secret, that refers to the Prima Facie Duty.

As she was trying to hide her relationship, she had to make up facades to her family, but her family knew her very well because they were with her during her entire life [obvious]; so those irrational or questionable behaviors created in her family some doubts and they suspected she was hiding something. They knew we were very close friends, and she would have the confidence enough to tell me her secrets. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph.] That is why they used to call me to try to penetrate the secrecy and obtain information.  Sometimes they would call me and tell me lies about my friend to see what I would respond, because that is how lies and secrecy work. As we had that degree of friendship and confidentiality, before she told them a lie she used to let me know and so I would have an answer ready in case they ask for information.  [Relate to class: Keeping a confidentiality puts tremendous burden on the agent.] 

As we also used to work at the same place, I felt compelled to lie at work in order to keep her secrecy. It happened that before she would lied to our bosses to ask for a day off from work for example, she would tell me about the lie she would use, and so I knew what to say to keep the flow of the lie so she did not get in trouble [run-on sentence].

[Did you feel a sense of loyalty, guilt or anxiety? Were you angry at having to lie or otherwise act contrary to your morals to protect the secret?]

 

Leave a Reply

