48 Hour News Blackout Yarelis Clarke

In the article “The End of Solitude” the author FULL NAME Deresiewicz makes the statement: “The camera has created a culture of celebrity; the computer is creating a culture of connectivity. As the two technologies converge.” Specifically focusing on Celebrity and connectivity, the two things that the meaning to these words have in common is that these are ways of getting known to the world. I agree with Deresiewicz when he states that this is what our contemporary self wants. We want to stay connected with our peers, we want to be relevant and present in our world. The easiest way of accomplishing this is through social media platforms like twitter and Instagram. And I see this social shift all around me. My peers can’t go a second without publishing something about their lives on social media. We seek validation through being seen. We want people to think that our lives are extremely interesting to impress people that we don’t like.  And now the goal in today’s age is online popularity. We are too interested in the amount of follow base we have. We feel a sense of connection when we log onto our social media and are captured by the actions of our social media friends. To conclude, As Deresiewicz states WRITES: Not long ago, it was easy to feel lonely. Now, it is impossible to be alone.”

I had an Interesting experience with the 48 hour news blackout. I had decided to take part in the activity this past weekend because I knew I would be busy and away from news. I was working as the director’s assistant for the music video for the local rapper Denzel Curry. Eat work day began at 6 am and concluded at about 8pm. I thought it would be easy to stay away from news but in fact I observed that news was everywhere I would go. I kept on accidently stumbling into news. For instance as I would put gas there would be an automated video on the pump machine with a news anchor informing me of what was going around the world. In the grocery store I’d find magazine in the checkout line informing me of the latest celebrity gossip. Even in class, my Professor read the class a recent piece in the Miami Herald about Trump’s latest press conference. Although I made sure to stay away from news stories it was constantly a factor in my daily life. Although reading a news article or watching the daily news isn’t a part of my daily routine, my main source for news information is social media platforms. This past weekend I felt a sense of oneness with myself because my attention did not span to the world around me but my own thoughts.  I feel like there are certain types of news that we need to be informed about. News that affects us and will be beneficial to our lives. Individuals rely on news to feel a sense of connection and to simply be aware of our surroundings.

BRING IT BACK TO DERESIEWICZ, CLARKE.

Leave a Reply

