48-Hour News Blackout

Wuttke, Alexandria

In William Deresiewicz’s essay, “The End of Solitude,” he describes how today’s technology has made it so that people are unable to be truly alone. Deresiewicz argues we need to remove ourselves from technology to truly find ourselves. “Solitude enables us to secure the integrity of the self as well as to explore it” (page 5).

Since society is advanced with technology, it has made me consumed with news almost everywhere I go. Disconnecting myself from all news for 48 hours was harder than I could have imagined. Out of habit, my phone is the first thing I check before I start my day and the last thing I look at before I go to sleep. I started my news blackout Monday February 20th at 12 pm. At first, it didn’t seem like it would have an effect on me, however I was wrong.

In these past 48 hours, I realized how the news is literally everywhere I go. The first day wasn’t so bad, until I was sitting at the dinner table listening to my dad say, “Did you hear about…” I quickly had to interrupt before she went on. I felt as if so much had gone on throughout the day and I missed a majority of it. Having to avoid all of my news apps, difficult. That meant avoiding the New York Times, the Weather app, and Facebook. Already getting used to checking the New York Times daily for this class, I was feeling a sense of anxiety not knowing what was going on the world. With no weather forecast, I had to check the old fashioned way, get out of bed and look out my window, hope to god with “Miami’s bi-polar weather” it wouldn’t rain. Thankfully, on Wednesday, the day I spent at home doing homework, it had poured all day.

The most difficult part of this 48-hour news blackout had been avoiding Facebook. Keeping updated with all of my Facebook friends and family on a daily basis, this was hard to stay away. I had been itching to grab my phone and log in. Facebook, now days, is where you would want to find videos mocking Donald Trump’s presidential election, or see how your whole Facebook feed has an opinion about what is happening on in the world throughout your news feed and there is no way of avoiding that. TIE YOUR EXPERIENCES BACK TO DERESIEWICZ, ALEXANDRIA.

Throughout this 48-hour new blackout, there had been multiple times where I had the urge of wanting to get a quick glimpse of Channel 7 News, log onto Facebook, or read up on the New York Times. It had felt almost impossible to avoid the news. It made me experience a sense of solitude and register how important the news actually is.

Leave a Reply

