48 Hour Media Blackout

FIVE POINTS OFF FOR NOT CATEGORIZING CORRECTLY. I WOULD NEVER HAVE FOUND YOUR POST HAD I NOT DONE A SEARCH.

The idea of having a 48-hour new media blackout seemed impossible. Our world today has become so globalized that the news is always spreading around, even if the story of the hour happens to be a World War II veteran riding a fighter plane one last time. No matter what application I might use on my phone, iPad or computer, I always somehow read an article from any news outlet of my liking. However I started with deleting certain applications from my devices, such as the New York Times, Vogue Magazine, CBS News, BBC News and anything else that related to a media outlet. I couldn’t bring myself to delete my social media applications, like Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat since they are ways to connect with family and friends who I can only reach out to sometimes over a Wi-Fi connection. I simply vowed to skip over any articles I might see on my dash, timeline or in the discover section. Skipping over an article on my timeline was easy, although some did catch my eye but they were mainly discarded and forgotten. With my devices covered, the next step was to avoid hearing about the news. This was the trickiest part for me, considering the fact that my family enjoys sitting together to watch the evening news. Since my bedroom is right next to the living room, the muffed sounds of the 11 o’clock news aired and I was forced to spent the new few hours with my headphones one, cruising around Netflix to watch something more kid-like. For the first day of avoiding the media, the whole idea of a blackout seemed odd from the beginning. I had grown used to turning on the news in the morning and evening to catch up on the day’s events. It gives me and my friends a chance to have a conversation over the dinner or while we wait in line. We had other topics to speak out, of course, but it was strange not being caught up on the daily news. Anytime somebody would try to speak up about the latest gossip or something Donald Trump said, I had to walk away or ask them to stop before something was said. The final day was the easiest, considering the fact that I had mainly buried myself in the library to focus on my studying. Still, I felt unease when I didn’t have the CBS live stream application open to hear the news as I studied. Although this social experiment only lasted 48 hours, I felt almost isolated and ignorant because I didn’t know what was going on locally or internationally. Since the start of the 2016 election, I had grown used to being updated with the news either it was updates on the candidates or a lost puppy being return to it’s owner. Being informed about the world around us makes us better human beings and more likely to understand one another.

WE HAVE TOLD YOU TIME AND AGAIN NOT TO SUBMIT THESE UGLY ONE-PARAGRAPH RESPONSES.  A 524-WORD PARAGRAPH! WHO CAN READ THIS?

YOU ALSO DIDN’T MENTION DERESIEWICZ ONCE.

 

Leave a Reply

