Total Blackout

The 48 hours that I experienced away from the media that surrounds me on a daily basis had left me in a state of isolation and urge. During that time, I found myself craving the desire of wanting to turn on one of my electronic devices and having a quick update on what is going on around the world. The feeling of being disconnected was dreadful, but what was worst was the fact that my siblings are avid electronic users, so I had to isolate myself from them too. Loneliness grew upon me and it seemed there was a distance between me and the outside world. As noted by Deresiewicz, loneliness was brought upon the lack of not being able to go on social media, and without television or the ability to use my phone, boredom struck me quickly. CAREFUL ABOUT MIXING BOREDOM AND LONELINESS To make for the absence of each, I exercised more than usual and doodled, something that I had never really done prior.

With the solidarity came a meditative state in which I had thoughts running through my head more than usual. What am I going to do when I graduate? Where will I work in the future? Is working two jobs really worth it? these thoughts came from the fact that I had no one else to really talk to but myself. If I had to go through this for a year, I’d be depressed, I would be missing out on so much news on life. Social media tends to distract me from really connecting with myself, but the distraction is a good thing for me.  I am someone who would rather be surrounded by a group of people than be alone. I did not like the solidarity as one would imagine since I do live with nine people. I needed to connect back to the media as soon as I could. Without a view of the outside world, you’re forced to try and create happiness and amusement for yourself that some just might not be able to do.  The feeling of isolation is more likely derived from the fact that I do rely on media to make my day go by. Seeing others go through day to day activities helps me worry less about what I have to go through. I often stress out about things in my life, so media tends to help me escape from whatever it is that brings me down.

The news should definitely be appreciated as it incorporates us all into one big community. We are all already connected in some way or form, in many ways media keeps us all relatable. For example, if there is a tragedy that has occurred, the news connects people from all over the world as one, and we can express and share our deepest sympathies and thoughts together. As a child I never liked being left alone, I always stuck to my parent’s hips, and when they were gone my friends and siblings kept me company. Without them, I’d occupy myself with technology.

Since I am a Public Relations LOWERCASE major, the connection can be made as to why I crave being connected with media and news. It fills a void and allows me to be surrounded with others in any sort of capacity. The anxious feeling comes from my upbringing of always being surrounded by people. I crave the feeling of belonging in society, and with media around to expose me to that, it allows me to see what I as an individual can contribute, and without any news updates or social media logins, it made me seem like a useless part of society. I want to leave an imprint of myself any way possible; from uploading a picture on Instagram, or to writing a blog post, it makes me believe I have added to society by contributing to the rhetoric of media; staying connected.

Leave a Reply

