How I know what I know about myself

As an outlier in my generation of constantly connected individuals, eliminating the news from my everyday life did not bring much tribulation. I practice the impoliteness of disconnecting A PITHY PHRASE often since my discovery of transcendentalism and the wise words of Thoreau and Emerson back in high school. Thus, my experience with this assignment was quite nominal, but I did utilize the 48 hours to do some self-reflection on FULL NAME Deresiewicz’s article and how I felt being that small percentage of young people who do not fear solitude.

Reading the article in more depth, I felt offended at Deresiewicz’s commentary on my generation’s inability to embrace loneliness. He generalized an entire group of individuals as being incapable of profoundness when it comes to our identity and realization of society. I took the time that I had away from the news to analyze his critique and see if my own hyper-visuality impaired my understanding of the darkness and solitude within me.

I can only speak for myself and maybe a few like-minded individuals when I say that after the 48 hours I did not become more self aware or anxious because of my disconnection. The solitude that Deresiewicz’s argues about is something I have tried to embrace way before I even knew of its existence. That in part could be because I grew up being that anomaly among my peers. I always questioned everything and tried to like Deresiewicz’s said march to the beat of my own drum. As I learned more about social norms and Freud’s understanding of the human psyche further along in my education, that’s when I started to realize that my thoughts and understandings of the world weren’t the same as the people around me and that that was one of the reasons why solitude was more commonplace to me then others.

While my friends were obsessing over MySpace and Facebook, I was arguing its superficiality and disassociating myself from what now is such a dominant part of people’s lives. I would pride myself for not being a part of social media, but the loneliness was a difficult burden to carry. What I have learned is that it is acceptable to embrace our culture of celebrity and connectivity because it’s a part of our identity, but we do need some time to disconnect because that disconnection allows us to face our loneliness and discover other parts of our identity. A GOOD POINT. THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN YOUR THESIS. I am not alone in thinking this either, and Deresiewicz’s underestimates my generation in saying that we are incapable of loneliness. We are capable, but we choose not too because it is an extraordinary ability to have all the information in the world so accessible. By being away from it for 48 hours, I realized that we do take it for granted and how it important it is to the building of our solidarity and introspection. Without the news or the Internet, I would not be able to write this. These mediums enlighten my thinking and connect me with other people who accept their loneliness and have similar thoughts to my own.

Leave a Reply

