48 hours media solitude Anthony Casas

When you have a passion for something, you tend to stay updated with everything that pertains to that. You want to follow the news around it and learn everything you can learn about it. If you can’t keep up with your passion and follow the news for it and stay updated, you will feel empty. It’ll feel like you don’t know what to do and it’s like a drug in where you want to know what has been happening. In my case, I have a passion for basketball. I have modeled my life around basketball in every way including fashion, future career, and hobbies.

I went 48 hours in “media solitude.” I didn’t use my phone except for necessary phone calls. I didn’t use my computer. I didn’t play video games online. I didn’t hang out with my friends during these 48 hours. At first, I expected it to just pass quickly because it’s only two days. The trade deadline for the NBA is here and when it gets close to that time during a season, that’s when teams make trades and some crazy shakeups happen. During this time arguably the biggest trade in the last few years occurred and I was unaware. Sacramento star center Demarcus Cousins was sent to the New Orleans Pelicans. I was aware that it was trade deadline time during the two days and I was itching to find out what was going on. I almost broke down and just went on my phone to find out what was going on, but I didn’t. In this way, I was disconnected from my basketball community.

During the two days, I tried searching for other things to pass the time, but I couldn’t find anything that could hold my attention for longer than 5 minutes. However, there was one thing that I did that lasted longer than 5 minutes, shooting around outside. But after a few hours I was extremely tired and just went home and went to sleep. It was a very boring two days to say the least. I didn’t really accomplish anything towards myself during these two days. My case may be different from others because of the career path I’ve chosen, which revolves around basketball, so I need to stay updated on the latest things. I can see how others may benefit from media solitude and just focusing on themselves, although overall I feel that everyone needs news and media. By the time the two days were over, so many things had changed and I was late on all of it and had to catch up.

I spent hours just surfing through the webs on my phone, mainly on basketball. I was in awe at all the things that occurred while I was in solitude. For others who follow more news and media than just sports, I can’t even imagine how long it took them to catch up from two days’ worth of solitude. I definitely can’t go a long period disconnected from news and media.

ANTHONY, WHERE’S THE ANALYSIS? WHERE ARE THE ALLUSIONS TO THE SOLITUDE READINGS?

Leave a Reply

