48-hour News Blackout- Melissa Martin

My experience with the 48-hour blackout was much more difficult than I thought it would be. I truly didn’t realize how much my world revolved around media before this assignment. I started the blackout on Sunday morning. I woke up around 9am and figured I’d make a heavy breakfast to help pass the time. While I was eating alone, I didn’t know what to do with myself. I couldn’t watch television, I couldn’t read the news on my tablet, I couldn’t even scroll down my Facebook feed. It was at this moment I realized how difficult this assignment was going to be. I took my breakfast to my backyard, so I at least had something to look at while I ate.

After breakfast I worked on my homework. It was noon when I finished, so I decided to go for a run, which I hadn’t done in months. I jogged around my neighborhood for about an hour, came back, showered, made lunch, cleaned my room and sat on my couch. At this point, I had made two meals, finished my homework, worked out, done all my chores and it wasn’t even 3 in the afternoon yet. This was unarguably the most productive Sunday I’d ever had in my life and it was only because I was filling the holes made by this blackout assignment. I had to figure out a way to pass the time. At this point I was starting to feel anxious. I just wanted to get on the internet and see what was going on. What if one of my friends got engaged and I missed the announcement? What if there was a terrorist attack nearby and I didn’t even know about it? My mind was going crazy and I could feel myself having withdrawals. It felt like I was going through rehab. I used to think that I liked to be alone, but I had never felt this alone before. I felt like I was stuck on an island, or worse; like I was stuck in solitary confinement and I was slowly driving myself insane. I had to fight the urges, though, and continue to entertain my brain. I finally picked up a book and read for the rest of the day. I went out with my mom for dinner that night and it was so nice to finally spend time with somebody else. Finally, it was 10pm and I could go to sleep. I was emotionally exhausted and I couldn’t believe I had to wake up and do this all over again.

Monday was less stressful. When I got to work, I told my co-workers about my assignment and dug my head into my computer. It was easier not to think about media while at work because I was pretty occupied. I went to the gym, got home, kept reading my book and went to bed. These were the hardest couple of days I had in a while. I didn’t realize how much my life depended on the news. It really is my life line and I couldn’t imagine the rest of my life without it.

MELISSA, WHERE’S THE ANALYSIS? WHERE’S THE SOLITUDE ESSAY? THIS IS JUST A DIARY ENTRY.

 

 

Leave a Reply

