48-Hour News Blackout

Being absence from the news for forty-eight hours was a bit tough for me. Not being able to see what is happening in the world, or what is happening around me, made me felt nervous because I didn’t know what to expect. Would it be cold today, would there be showers of rain, is there an accident on the high way, should I go this direction instead, is there an incident at my school and what did Trump sign today that would affect me, are just a few questions that were bogging my mind as the time went by. Having no answers to those questions made me felt worried to take on the day at hand. William Deresiewicz WROTE:“Celebrity and connectivity are both ways of becoming known. This is what the contemporary self wants. It wants to be recognized, wants to be connected: It wants to be visible” end quote. AWKWARD This statement is pretty much accurate in what we as human beings want. However, I don’t see myself as wanting to be recognized but more so wanting to be connected. Wanting that connection to social media news site, television news and online news. FRAGMENT

Could this be true of us, that solitude has no place in our lives? Being disconnected from the news brought a sense of boredom and seclusion. In the absence of the news, I found myself trying to fill the gap by doing other things such as taking walks outside and watching a variety of movies. These activities kept my mind from straying away and having the urge to turn the television on WSVN channel seven, visiting the online news or my news apps on my phone. William Deresiewicz mentioned and I quote “we live exclusively in relation to others, and what disappears from our lives is solitude. Technology is taking away our privacy and our concentration, but it is also taking away our ability to be alone” end quote. This phrase made me realize that we really are living exclusively in relation to others, such as depending on others to provide us with the news of the world. He also mentioned about technology and the impairment it causes. It no longer allows us to have privacy because we often share our thoughts and ourselves through it which causes us to lose concentration on things that are more imperative to our lives. Whatever we are seeking, such as the news, is right at our finger tips, hence, we are rarely alone as Deresiewicz stated.

Going through this blackout made me realize how applicable the news is to my life. It provides you with a sense of awareness of what is taking place in the world, as well as your surroundings. It also aids in preparing you for what is to come and how it should be managed. Due to the fact that I was unable to watch the weather channel for those few days, I was extremely unprepared for the day ahead of me. There were showers of rain for an extensive period which caused me to be stuck. If I did watch the weather channel, I would have been equipped and knowledgeable about the day, therefore, the news should not be taken for granted.

Leave a Reply

