48 hour Blackout

After reading “The End of Solitude” by William Deresiewicz, I can see my entire generation in what he describes. The first half of my life was spent with the dial up style of internet use but now as an adult, I am submerged in a world where Instagram and various apps rule. Albert Einstien once said, “I fear the day technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.’ This has stuck with me as I realize that human interaction is nearly extinct. We live in a world where the average 18 year old can tell you what Kylie Jenner’s personal life consists of but not what is going on globally. We go out to restaurants with “friends” and stare down at our phones together followed by going to someone’s house and spending time staring at our phone some more.

After disconnecting from all media for 48 hours, my anxiety levels were through the roof. I consider myself a socially aware person and try to keep up with issues going on in the world at all times. With that, came the social anxiety of detaching from Snapchat and Instagram because of FOMO or better known as the fear of missing out. Even if we are not taking part in the activities or plans that are posted all over social media, the lack of knowledge of what is going on creates the feeling of being left out. I did find myself trying to make other plans and keep myself busy to distract from the lack of social media use. I ended up having to delete the actual applications off of my phone temporarily due to lack of self control which proved to be quite humiliating.

Generally, this activity made me realize that I really need to take more time to disconnect from the social aspects that seem to dictate what makes me feel included. At the same time, not being able to look up the status of the current political issues that are changing daily as well as other international news was disheartening. I feel privileged to be able to connect with the world around me, as I know how many other people do not have that option. GOOD.

Leave a Reply

