News Blackout

Throughout the forty-eight hour news blackout, I found myself being able to complete more tasks that had to be done. At one point, there was a moment of where I began doing a new art piece, which I haven’t done for almost a year. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] There was a definite sense of awareness that there needed to be a filler for the actual blackout. Realizing this meant that I was doing things that I had previously procrastinated for weeks to do. I was able to complete more tasks and clean more than I was able to do in the past few weeks. However, I did find that I had to avoid the news more and speak up about to avoid the news especially because of the normal outbursts from our newly elected president. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

Going back and analyzing my notes and thoughts on the experience showed me that the blackout gave a form of empty mindedness peace of not knowing of the misdeeds and the turmoil that is facing us in our day to day lives. The experience brought forth a calmness rather than an anxiety of not knowing. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] I did however find that the extra activities did, in a way, substitute the gap of watching or reading the news. It was a subconscious thing to do, to fill the time and space for what I was not doing. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] On the first forty-eight hours, I realized that I kept stressing to myself that on was on an assignment and to avoid all news outlets, leading me to do other activities to fill that gap. But by the end of the forty-eight hours, it felt normal to not watch anything, as if it never existed. Throughout the entire blackout I realized that I did not did not have any sense of anxiety of not knowing and not checking any updates.

William Deresiewicz’s idea of solitude and the news media blackout has tied itself together in part of what he says that through solitude, going through history, leads to a product being created. The solitude coming out of the blackout was able to produce something relatively positive, although not being a tribal dance or a holy Mary, but nonetheless a positive product. Connecting the experience to Deresiewicz’s solitude showed that being isolated was not a fear that I encountered, but instead enjoyed. [How do these feelings relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] William Deresiewicz makes a very important between media outlets and the idea of solitude, where we were raised media outlets leading to the fear of the solitude when we do not have it. Based on this idea, I connect the experience of the news blackout with how I was raised, which leads to being comfortable with being in that media solitude along with being socially alone, the blackout just brought myself to childhood and the way I was raised with being accustomed to the idea of not having any connections, solely connected to the family environment [run-on sentence that interferes with the analysis].

Leave a Reply

