Black out

After reading “The End of Solitude” by Deresiewicz and going through a horrific 48 hours black out my life has changed. My body and mind realized how important news is for our daily lives. Especially the weather channel, during this 48 hour’s period there was a day full of rain in Miami which I wasn’t prepared for. After messing up one of my favorite pairs of shoes and being soaking wet for a full day, I clearly understood how important the weather channel is. [How do these insights relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] One of the hardest parts of this 48-hour experience was not talking to my best friend on the latest events while I drive home from work, this is something I was used to doing every day. So that felt very out of place. [How do these insights relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] This experiment did have a positive effect I got back to biking around my neighborhood which was a hobby I really enjoyed. I stopped biking because I thought I had no time for it. I was wrong I do have time to bike if I stop going on social media so much. Another positive thing I realized from this 48hr block was that I stop getting headaches at the end of day. I usually always have a headache by the time night falls. It came from forcing my version so often on phone screens, tv screens and computers. [How do these insights relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?]

Analyzing Deresiewicz argument on the culture of celebrity and connectivity I also see myself in this argument. I’m connected more to my friends online then in person. In my group of friend’s [friends], we spend the whole day sending each other pictures and texting silly things then actually hanging out together. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] After analyzing myself I don’t like being alone. I can’t even stand driving in my car alone. When I know I have to drive somewhere alone I start to feel anxious. I don’t like the feeling of being alone, so when I’m in the car alone my first reaction is to pick up the phone and call someone. Or if no one answered and I’m left driving alone I would find myself picking up my phone during a red light and checking social media. [good insights]

Overall, after analyzing the 48-hour experience, news creates more solitude by making us think for ourselves then when you’re actually alone. I was less anxious of being alone during the 48-hour black out then when I’m constantly checking my social media. [good insight. Relate to McLuhan.] I learned with this 48-hour blackout that I’m more at peace with myself when I don’t have social media. I’m actually enjoying life more and embracing what is around me then having my faced glued to my phone. Solitude makes the soul feel less lonely then having a fake made up online world surrounding us. [good insight]

Leave a Reply

