Assignment #5: 48 Hr. Blackout

After going 48 hours of not listening or talking about any news, I realize how much of a medium our cell phone is in this generation. We use it to connect to people and to what is going on in the world. Cellphones are probably the most important medium in today’s society. [Relate to McLuhan’s saying, “The medium is the message.”]

First hearing about this assignment, I did not think it was going to be difficult. Not checking the news or talking to anyone about politics seemed pleasant. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] On the contrary, it turned out to be challenging. Having to walk away from conversations pertaining to the news or not even being able to check the weather was harder than it seemed. What I actually found most difficult believe it or not was checking the weather. I was not aware how often I checked it. I felt anxious not being able to check the weather and having to walk away from conversations that I normally would join in on. I did not realize the role these little things played in my life. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] I found myself on my cellphone more checking Snapchat seeing what was going on in my friend’s lives to occupy my time. I actually got more homework done because I was not talking to many people in my house, because lately the topic has been of politics. I did not even go on to Facebook, because everyone on Facebook seems to have his or her own opinion of the news.

We in this day and age rely on are cellphones to do basically everything. Especially to fill a void of loneliness and to look busy. I will wait in a line by myself, and instead of just standing and waiting, I play on my phone so I don’t look lonely. Not only do I believe I look lonely, I actually feel lonely just being by myself in public. I almost feel awkward, so I pull out my phone. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] Deresiewicz speaks of a young lady who could not write a paper by herself, that she needed the company of someone. We should be able to embrace being in our own company. Solitude should not have a negative connotation. Being in our own company should be empowering. [good insights]

News in a way is an intrusion on our solitude because we look at it not only when were interested in it, but to preoccupy our time. I did not enjoy being in my own solitude. I found myself trying to fill the void of not being able to talk about news related things. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

Leave a Reply

