48-Hour News Blackout

On a day-to-day basis, I do not usually seek out the news, so blocking it out for forty-eight hours hardly seemed like a task. It didn’t come up in conversation or really disturb my daily routine at all. There were no empty gaps to fill or feelings of anxiousness because nothing had actually changed.

After forty-eight hours disconnected from all kinds of news, I now, more than ever, cannot relate to Deresiewicz’ “The End of Solitude.” However, this is not to say I disagree with him. He accurately analyzes that technology is taking away one’s privacy and ability to be alone, and I agree with his case on my generation’s need for attention and visibility. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] But what if you’re a member of this generation who does not have hundreds of followers on any social media platform? What if you’re a member of this generation with no more than five close friends? What if you’re a member of this generation who not only appreciates being alone, but prefers it at times to being with others? What then?

Just to clarify, I am not antisocial. I can talk to anyone about anything and I thrive in social events. I am just simple. I do not own the newest technology. I do not surround myself with many friends. I do not spend my life texting, worrying about my social media presence, or pretending to make connections with people I do not know well. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] I’m more concerned with matters that will lead to my self-growth. I strive to be a well-educated and well-traveled individual. I relate more with the modernists, where the essential relationship is only with oneself. I do not fear being lonely because I find peace and comfort in my own company. [How do these insights relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

I feel so at home being by myself because I have never truly fit in. As a child, I learned how to entertain myself without the need to have others around me. Deresiewicz states, “it takes a willingness to be unpopular,” and unpopular I have always been. This didn’t lead to me feeling lonely, instead, it led to a capacity of solitude at a young age. I do not grieve the absence of others and I do not attach a negativity to having nothing to do. I am idle, but not bored. I am alone, but not lonely.

In the end, this experiment only reaffirmed what I already knew. The news does not hold a high spot in my life, but it is important in itself. It is our primary source for information about what is currently happening in the world and it is necessary for us to be informed. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] I may take the news for granted by not being an active user, but the news can sometimes be an intrusion to our solitude by always having us connected to the rest of the world. However, it is a necessity we cannot merely discard on the grounds of its intrusiveness. But, I will continue to take solace in my solitude.

Leave a Reply

