48 Hour Media Blackout- Karina Taylee

 

The current generation of young people can get news easier than any generation before them. Usually considered positive, scholars such as William Deresiewiez claim that people abuse this luxury to avoid being alone and once alone most people today could not handle that. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] Initially, when I was told we were not allowed to access news for forty-eight hours, I thought it would be very easy because I did not consider myself hooked to the media and because news could be easily avoided. I was utterly wrong, challenged, and surprised but what I learned about myself in the end of this experience.

One of the biggest actualization that came out of this experience is how much news I was surrounded by. Probably the biggest form of news I consume is the radio. The first day I started my drive by switching off the news station and I thought that would be the end of trying to find something to listen to, but the next station would be some people talking about an exciting headline and I found myself switching the station again. This happened so often that I spent more time avoiding news and switching back and forth between stations than actually listening to real content every time I wanted to drive somewhere. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

Whenever I got home and accessed the internet, I would see so many headlines everywhere I went, even in advertisements, and I love reading so I was disappointed that a lot of my usual reading material was now off limits. I had also realized that I keep my phone near me even when doing homework just to have a potential distraction and to prevent me from having to focus too hard on assignments.  [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] I was constantly creating my own loopholes telling myself that it was not technically news if it was not new to me. I got very close to breaking the challenge several times because of this mentality but never could convince myself enough to read an article. The fact that I could not read it immediately made them exponentially more interesting. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] As soon as I was able to read the subjects of these headlines I realized that most of these articles were not that interesting and I had put them on a pedestal, which was a big actualization since I did not think I would be the type of person to do that. [How do these insights relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

I thought of myself as someone who can be immune to such temptation, but this experience made me understand that I am not as high and mighty as I sometimes told myself and was in fact a very humbling experience. I thought that whoever would let themselves succumb to the “weakness” of becoming anxious or bored during this time were just silly. After all it is just two days, do they not have other things to do? Are they not patient enough to just wait it out, or were they simply too addicted to the consumption of media? Certainly, I was different, or so I thought. [How do these insights relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

That was not the case; whatever pretentious  thoughts I had before this are now gone and it is a little embarrassing that I had to go through this in order to see that I am not above other people my age pertaining the use of media. I also use it a lot, I also avoid being alone. At the beginning of writing this, I made sure to put my cell phone in my bag, and even though that is a very small step, hopefully it is the beginning of a slightly more solitary lifestyle. [good insight]

Leave a Reply

