48 Hour Blackout

I decided to start my blackout period on Saturday since it was the weekend and there are more chances of being entertained than during the week. For my first day of my 48 hour blackout, I decided to delete any news or social media apps from my phone so that I don’t forget that I can’t look at them. I did not find the blackout assignment to be difficult or cause me anxiety. I found it to be a relief to disconnect from everything going on in the world. I heard no news about Trump, or a Kardashian, and the peace from that alone is enough to take 48 hour breaks from the news periodically. [Good insights. How do they relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

This is not the first time that I have experienced a blackout from news for an extended period of time. When I went to Cuba for the first time in 2015, I was in a complete news and social media blackout for 11 days. I did not connect to wifi or watch TV during that time period.  [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] At first, it is a little strange because until we stop being connected, we don’t realize how quickly we grab our phones when we are bored or when we want to avoid an awkward situation. It was freeing being able to experience the real Cuba without having the need to post to Snapchat. I felt more grounded when it came to social media after that trip. [How do these experiences relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

On day two of my solitude, my mom and I decided to drive to Naples, Florida to go to the beach for the day. We usually like to go to Naples because it is less crowded. I picked a book that I had been wanting to read and got started on it on my beach day. I did not look at any weather sites to see how the weather was going to be and I forbade my mom from doing the same, so we decided to risk it and go for the drive anyways. We experienced a nice mother-daughter day at the beach and fortunately the weather was perfect. After a couple of days of disconnect, I experience a sense of rawness from really interacting with people and not interacting only with a picture or a tweet. [How do these feelings relate to the points that Deresiewicz raises in his essay?] 

I’ve never been one to be excessively connected in wanting to find out what everyone else around me is doing. I actually experience anxiety when I am around people too long and I find myself taking ten-minute breaks away from people in solitude throughout the day so that I may gather my thoughts. [Organize your writing: new idea, new paragraph] I find it astounding that Deresiewicz’s student could not even write an essay alone without having the company of a friend for fear of being alone.  This generation has developed what we call FOMO- fear of missing out. Everyone wants be a part of everything if not, their life isn’t as important as the guy’s next to him; even though the guy next to him is just pretending for the guy next to him.

Leave a Reply

